Plenary Speakers

Monday, June 19, 2023

Kunle Olukoton, Stanford University

Kunle Olukotun is the Cadence Design Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Stanford University. Olukotun is a pioneer in multicore processor design and the leader of the Stanford Hydra chip multiprocessor (CMP) research project. He founded Afara Websystems to develop high-throughput, low-power multicore processors for server systems. The Afara multi-core processor, called Niagara, was acquired by Sun Microsystems and now powers Oracle's SPARC-based servers. In 2017, Olukotun co-founded SambaNova Systems, a Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence company, and continues to lead as their Chief Technologist. Olukotun is the Director of the Pervasive Parallel Lab and a member of the Data Analytics tor What's Next (DAWN) Lab, developing infrastructure for usable machine learning. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, an ACM Fellow, and an IEEE Fellow for contributions to multiprocessors on a chip design and the commercialization of this technology. He also received the Harry H. Goode Memorial Award. Olukotun received his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from The University of Michigan.

Tuesday, June 20, 2023

Margaret Montonosi, US National Science Foundation

Margaret Martonosi is the US National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Assistant Director for Computer and information Science and Engineering (CISE). With an annual budget of more than $1B, the CISE directorate at NSF has the mission to uphold the Nation’s leadership in scientific discovery and engineering innovation through its support of fundamental research and education in computer and information science and engineering as well as transformative advances in research cyberinfrastructure. While at NSF, Dr. Martonosi is on leave from Princeton University where she is an endowed professor of Computer Science. Dr. Martonosi's research interests are in computer architecture and hardware-software interface issues in both classical and quantum computing systems. Dr. Martonosi is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the ACM and IEEE.

Wednesday, June 21, 2023

Shafi Goldwasser
Director, Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing, University of California Berkeley
C. Lester Hogan Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences,
University of California Berkeley

Shafi Goldwasser is Director of Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing and is a professor at UC Berkeley (EECS), MIT (EECS) and Weizmann Institute (CS, Applied Math). Goldwasser holds B.S. Applied Mathematics, CMU (1979), and M.S. (1981) and Ph.D. (1984) in CS, UC Berkeley. Goldwasser's discoveries include the introduction of probabilistic encryption, interactive zero knowledge protocols, elliptic curve primality testings, hardness of approximation proofs for combinatorial problems, and combinatorial property testing. Goldwasser received the ACM Turing Award (2012), Gödel Prize (1993, 2001), ACM Hopper Award (1996), RSA Award in Mathematics (1998), ACM Athena Award (2008), Franklin Medal (2010), IEEE Piore Award (2011), Simons Foundation Investigator Award (2012), BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award (2018), and L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award (2021). Goldwasser is a member of the NAS, NAE, AAAS, Russian and Israeli Academies of Science, and London Royal Mathematical Society. Goldwasser holds honorary degrees from many universities.

Thursday, June 22, 2023

Don Towsley, University of Massachusetts

Don Towsley is currently a Distinguished Professor at the University of Massachusetts in the College of Information & Computer Sciences.  He has made seminal contributions to the design, analysis, optimization, and control of networks.  More recently he and his colleagues have pioneered the information theory of covert communications, and the design, analysis, optimization, and control of quantum networks.  Towsley was co-founder and Co-Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Transactions on Modeling and Performance Evaluation of Computing Systems (TOMPECS) and has served as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking. He is a corresponding member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and has received several achievement awards including the 2007 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award, the 2007 ACM SIGMETRICS and 2008 ACM SIGCOMM Achievement Awards, and the 2011 INFOCOM Achievement Award. He has received numerous Test of Time and Best Paper Awards. Last, he is Fellow of the ACM and IEEE.

Friday, June 23, 2023

Torsten Hoefler, ETH Zurich

Torsten Hoefler is a Professor of Computer Science at ETH Zurich, a member of Academia Europaea, and a Fellow of the ACM and IEEE. His research interests revolve around the central topic of "Performance-centric System Design" and include scalable networks, parallel programming techniques, and performance modeling. Torsten won best paper awards at the ACM/IEEE Supercomputing Conference SC10, SC13, SC14, SC19, SC22, EuroMPI'13, HPDC'15, HPDC'16, IPDPS'15, and other conferences. He published numerous peer-reviewed scientific conference and journal articles and authored chapters of the MPI-2.2 and MPI-3.0 standards. He received the IEEE CS Sidney Fernbach Award, the ACM Gordon Bell Prize, the Latsis prize of ETH Zurich, as well as both ERC starting and consolidator grants. Additional information about Torsten can be found on his homepage at