Plenary Panel

Reflecting on 50 Years of Computing Research, and Future Outlook

Hagit Attiya, Technion

Hagit Attiya is a professor at the department of Computer Science at the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, and holds the Harry W. Labov and Charlotte Ullman Labov Academic Chair. She is the editor-in-chief of Springer's journal Distributed Computing. She won the Dijkstra award in Distributed Computing 2011 and is a fellow of the ACM.

Jack Dongarra, University of Tennessee at Knoxville, 2021 Turing Award Winner

Jack Dongarra specializes in numerical algorithms in linear algebra, parallel computing, the use of advanced computer architectures, programming methodology, and tools for parallel computers. He holds appointments at the University of Manchester, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the University of Tennessee, where he founded the Innovative Computing Laboratory. In 2019 he received the ACM/SIAM Computational Science and Engineering Prize. In 2020 he received the IEEE-CS Computer Pioneer Award. He is a Fellow of the AAAS, ACM, IEEE, and SIAM; a foreign member of the British Royal Society and a member of the US National Academy of Engineering. Most recently, he received the 2021 ACM A.M. Turing Award for his pioneering contributions to numerical algorithms and software that have driven decades of extraordinary progress in computing performance and applications. 

Mary Hall, Director of Kahlert School of Computing at University of Utah

Mary Hall is a Professor and Director of the School of Computing at University of Utah. She received a PhD in Computer Science from Rice University. Her research focus brings together compiler optimizations targeting current and future high-performance architectures on real-world applications. Hall’s prior work has developed compiler techniques for exploiting parallelism and locality on a diversity of architectures: automatic parallelization for SMPs, superword-level parallelism for multimedia extensions, processing-in-memory architectures, FPGAs and more recently many-core CPUs and GPUs. Professor Hall is an IEEE Fellow, an ACM Distinguished Scientist and a member of the Computing Research Association Board of Directors. She actively participates in mentoring and outreach programs to encourage the participation of women and other groups underrepresented in computer science.

Lizy Kurian John, The University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Lizy Kurian John holds the Truchard Foundation Chair in Engineering in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. Her research is in the areas of computer architecture, multicore processors, memory systems, performance evaluation and benchmarking, workload characterization, and fpgas. Prof. John's research has been supported by the National Science Foundation, Semiconductor Research Consortium (SRC), DARPA, META, Lockheed Martin, AMD, ARM, Oracle, Huawei, IBM, INTEL, Motorola, Freescale, Dell, Samsung, Texas Instruments, etc. She is recipient of NSF CAREER award, UT Austin Engineering Foundation Faculty Award, Halliburton, Brown and Root Engineering Foundation Young Faculty Award, University of Texas Alumni Association Teaching Award, The Pennsylvania State University Outstanding Engineering Alumnus Award, etc. Lizy john holds 15 U. S. Patents and has published four books, 16 book chapters, 300+ refereed journal and conference publications, and more than 50 workshop papers. Prof. John is the Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Micro, and has served in the editorial boards of many IEEE and ACM journals. She is an IEEE Fellow, ACM Fellow, and Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

Guy L. Steele Jr., Oracle Labs

Guy L. Steele Jr. (A.B., 1975, Harvard College; S.M., 1977, and Ph.D., 1980, MIT) is a Software Architect at Oracle Labs. He has taught at Carnegie-Mellon University, and worked for Tartan Laboratories, Thinking Machines Corporation, and Sun Microsystems. He is author or co-author of five books: Common Lisp: The Language, C: A Reference Manual, The Hacker’s Dictionary, The High Performance Fortran Handbook, and The Java Language Specification. In 1975, he and Gerald Jay Sussman created the Scheme language (much improved by many others since then). He has served on accredited standards committees X3J11 (C language) and X3J3 (Fortran), and served as chairman of X3J13 (Common Lisp). At Thinking Machines Corporation he co-developed the languages Connection Machine Lisp, C*, and Connection Machine Fortran. He is an ACM Fellow (and member since 1971), IEEE Fellow, Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering of the United States of America. He designed the original EMACS command set and was the first person to port TeX. At Oracle Labs, he is responsible for research in language design, implementation strategies, and related algorithms.